Title: Blood and Betrayal

Author: Lindsay Buroker

Length: 374 pages

Genre: Fantasy // Steampunk

My Rating: 5/5

This is my review on the 5th book in Lindsay Buroker’s Emperor’s Edge series. If you haven’t read previous books, be warned that there may be spoilers in here from books 1-4. You have been sufficiently cautioned. Proceed on at your own literary peril. 🙂

This was probably my favorite of the books so far. The story begins with the knowledge that Amaranthe has been kidnapped by Forge and now Maldynado finds himself as the unlikely leader of the Emperor’s Edge group–complete with the Emperor (whom they kidnapped in the previous book). Sicarius promises to find Amaranthe and leaves Maldynado and the others alone to protect the Emperor as he travels to a secret Forge meeting. This book is brimming with adventure, danger, and shenanigans–just as the other books are, but this book provides us with unique windows into Amaranthe’s and Maldynado’s souls. Be aware: this book contains some disturbing torture scenes, so if you’re squeamish about that kind of thing, just tread lightly. Other than that, violence is at its usual levels in Buroker’s books.

I loved this book for so many reasons, but one of them was the fact that we got to see so many developments in Sespian’s, Amaranthe’s, and Sicarius’ characters. We learned far more about certain characters’ pasts (including Maldynado), and we got to see how these past experiences molded the characters into their current selves. It left me DYING for the next book to come out! If you make it through this one and are sitting on pins and needles for the sixth installment, use your waiting time to check out Beneath the Surface–a novella that takes place between books 5 and 6.

If you’d like to read The Emperor’s Edge series, book 1 is available for free on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, etc. You should DEFINITELY check them out. I recommended them to my mother on the 12th of January and she’s already 3 books in! They are ADDICTIVE.

Here are my reviews on the other books in the series:

>> The Emperor’s Edge (Book One)

>> Ice Cracker II (Book 1.5)

>> Dark Currents (Book 2)

>> Deadly Games (Book 3)

>> Conspiracy (Book 4)

Go and check ’em out!

Book Review: Blood and Betrayal by Lindsay Buroker
Tagged on:                 

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: